🔍 Read the full analysis: The ChatGPT Pro Update: A Closer Look At What’s Included on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased shared Work and Codex allowances across its Pro tiers. Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous allowance; on Pro 200, the lower allowance was raised to match the higher one. Prices and several other usage limits remain unchanged.
OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut to its $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance on its Pro tiers, according to release notes dated October 29. Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers now receive twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while Pro 200 subscribers on the lower allowance were raised to match the higher one; prices did not change.
The change came one day before the planned Pro 200 reduction was due to take effect. OpenAI’s release notes say the company canceled the reduction announced in a September 29 email. Its updated Pro help page clarifies that Pro 200 customers who already had the higher allowance keep it, while those on the lower allowance receive an increase to that level. The change applies automatically to existing subscribers, without waiting for a billing renewal.
Work and Codex share an allowance, according to OpenAI’s pricing information. Work supports longer tasks such as research and document work; Codex is the company’s coding agent. The increased allowance applies to use across both products, rather than creating separate enlarged limits for each.
Other plan limits are not all changing. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500. On Pro 200, the lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one. The faster Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500, and OpenAI says its Dots agents retain extended limits for now, counted separately.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
How the New Limits Affect Subscribers
The update changes the amount of work some subscribers can do through OpenAI’s task and coding tools without changing their monthly bill. That may matter to people using Work for extended research or Codex for coding tasks, but twice the allowance does not necessarily mean twice as much work. OpenAI says usage varies with the model, task and speed mode.
For businesses, the change is a reason to check which seats are assigned to staff who rely on Work and Codex. The Business Premium increase is confirmed, but the size of that increase is not specified in OpenAI’s release note. Organizations should also keep ChatGPT seat allowances separate from API budgets: this announcement concerns plan usage and does not state that API pricing or limits changed.
For individual subscribers weighing a more expensive plan, the limits need to be read separately. The update does not double every kind of ChatGPT usage, and it does not change prices. A larger Work and Codex allowance may be useful to some users, but the announcement alone does not show how much any particular person will use or whether an upgrade is worthwhile.
Popular right now

KitchenAid Classic Series 4.5 Quart Tilt-Head Stand Mixer K45SS, Onyx Black

Ninja CREAMi Scoop & Swirl 13-in-1 Ice Cream and Soft Serve Maker, NC701

Sony BRAVIA 5 85-Inch Mini LED 4K HDR Smart TV (K-85XR50)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
September’s Planned Pro 200 Cut
The change follows a series of updates to OpenAI’s Pro plans. According to the source report, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 plan on September 10. TechCrunch reported that OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for GPT-6 Astra. On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced a $500 Pro tier, while telling affected subscribers that included usage allowances would change and the $200 monthly price would remain.
That September announcement set a lower Work and Codex allowance for some Pro 200 subscribers, scheduled to begin October 30. On October 29, OpenAI reversed that planned cut before it took effect. The latest help page says subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it, and those who had the lower allowance now receive the higher level. The distinction matters: the Pro 200 change restores and equalizes allowances; it is not a doubling for every Pro 200 customer.
The announcement also drew attention because an OpenAI executive described the change more broadly than the company’s detailed help page. Sottiaux wrote on X that usage limits were being doubled across the Pro tiers and Business Premium. OpenAI’s help page, however, specifies the Work and Codex allowance changes and lists chat limits that remain unchanged for Pro 100 and Pro 500.
“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo on X
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no numerical amount or multiplier. Sottiaux said on X that the increase doubles usage, but the company’s release note does not give that figure. The available plan information therefore does not establish the exact new Business Premium allowance.
It is also not clear from the October 29 announcement whether plans beyond those named will receive changes later. OpenAI did not mention Free, Go or Business Standard in the cited release notes. Their omission does not confirm that those plans will never change; it means this update does not specify changes for them.
OpenAI has not published a single conversion from the larger allowance to a fixed number of tasks or coding jobs. The amount of usage available can vary by model, task and speed mode, according to the company. Subscribers should not read the allowance increase as a guaranteed doubling of completed work.
Check Plan Details and Usage
The changes are effective immediately, and OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowances automatically. No action or renewal is required. Subscribers can review their account’s usage information and the current plan details to see how the change applies to their own tier.
Businesses can review seat assignments and monitor Work and Codex use as the updated limits take effect. OpenAI’s published details may also be updated if it provides a specific Business Premium allowance or clarifies changes for other plans. Until then, the company’s help page is the more specific reference for distinguishing Work and Codex allowances from chat limits.
Key Questions
What changed for ChatGPT Pro subscribers?
Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. OpenAI canceled the planned Pro 200 reduction and raised the lower Pro 200 allowance to match the higher one.
Did every Pro 200 subscriber get twice as much usage?
No. OpenAI says only subscribers on the lower allowance received an increase, bringing them up to the higher allowance. Customers who already had the higher allowance keep it.
Did OpenAI change ChatGPT prices?
No price change is included in the October 29 announcement. The listed Pro prices remain $100, $200 and $500 per month, and Plus remains $20 per month.
Did all ChatGPT limits double?
No. OpenAI’s help page says the increases concern Work and Codex allowances. Plus usage and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 are unchanged; Pro 200’s lower weekly chat limit now matches the higher one.
How much more usage does Business Premium receive?
OpenAI’s release note confirms an increase but does not give a number. Sottiaux said on X that Business Premium usage was doubling, but the exact allowance is not specified in the company’s release note.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
